Posted By: Rodrigo_SLZ TOracleDataset fails on Oracle 10g - 01/03/06 12:54 AM
Hi Marco,

Our application runs on Oracle 9.2.0.6.0 but does not run on Oracle 10.2.0.1.0.

When inserting records in a view using TOracleDataset we receive the following message: "Field RID must have a value". This view has a virtual column called RID. This column points to ROWID table column.

We do know that changing RequiredFields property to FALSE eliminates the problem on Oracle 10g, but why the application still works on Oracle 9i without any code change?

For example, the following select statement for SQL property WORKS on both Oracle 9i and 10g:

select a.col1, a.col2, ... , a.colN, a.rowid from view_name a

But the same select statement wrote in a different way DOES NOT WORK on Oracle 10g:

select a.*, a.rowid from view_name a

We are using DOA 4.0.7.1

Can you help us?

Best Regards.
Posted By: Marco Kalter Re: TOracleDataset fails on Oracle 10g - 01/03/06 08:34 PM
Apparently the column is reported as "required". You will need to define it as an internally calculated fied (ftInternalCalc).
Posted By: Rodrigo_SLZ Re: TOracleDataset fails on Oracle 10g - 01/03/06 10:05 PM
Hi Marco,

Thanks for the reply.

We understood your proposal, but why our appliction still runs on Oracle 9i without any source code modification? Is this TOracleDataset behavior on Oracle 10g indicating a possible bug, maybe in DOA source code?

Considering that our applications is too big to share in the modifications proposed, is there another solution we should try to make it work on Oracle 10g? Perhaps an easy one, with some simple implementation in DOA source code?

Best Regards.
Posted By: Marco Kalter Re: TOracleDataset fails on Oracle 10g - 01/04/06 11:16 PM
The symptoms suggest that this is a behavioral change in Oracle10g. We'd have to look into this first before I can answer this. If you could send me a small testcase to reproduce the issue?
Posted By: Rodrigo_SLZ Re: TOracleDataset fails on Oracle 10g - 01/05/06 09:10 PM
Hi Marco,
We have sent you the testcase by email.
We are waiting for your results.
Best Regards.
Posted By: samer1971 Re: TOracleDataset fails on Oracle 10g - 01/06/06 12:10 AM
can odac connect to column of ordaudio type of inermedia oracle database
Posted By: samer1971 Re: TOracleDataset fails on Oracle 10g - 01/06/06 03:34 PM
can odac table comopnent conect to an oracle 9i column of ordvideo type
Posted By: Rodrigo_SLZ Re: TOracleDataset fails on Oracle 10g - 01/11/06 04:24 PM
Hi Marco,
Did you reproduce the problem in Oracle 10g?
Best Regards.
Posted By: Rodrigo_SLZ Re: TOracleDataset fails on Oracle 10g - 02/01/06 06:06 PM
frown
Hi Marco,
Is there any patch to solve this problem?
Best Regards.
Posted By: Marco Kalter Re: TOracleDataset fails on Oracle 10g - 02/06/06 11:45 PM
Sorry for the delay. We'll hopefully have a patch available shortly.
Posted By: Rodrigo_SLZ Re: TOracleDataset fails on Oracle 10g - 03/13/06 09:52 PM
Hi Marco,
Is there any chance to have this patch for 28/mar/06?
Best Regards.
Posted By: noidic Re: TOracleDataset fails on Oracle 10g - 03/29/06 11:29 AM
Hi!

We've got the same problem with the TOracelQuery component, though we don't use the rowid column in this case. If we do a select *, we get a access violation in orageneric10.dll, if we select the columns by name everything is fine.

I have not figured out so far, which circumstances are needed for this issue to show up, in some querys it does, in others not. I suspect XMLType-Columns, which we use in some tables.

Maybe this helps in searching.
Posted By: Marco Kalter Re: TOracleDataset fails on Oracle 10g - 03/29/06 09:27 PM
Is this issue restricted to XMLTYPE columns?
Posted By: noidic Re: TOracleDataset fails on Oracle 10g - 03/30/06 01:05 PM
It seems so at the moment, but since we've updatet our clients recently, I can not confirm this at 100%.

We just encountered another Problem resulting in the same Exception while creating a TXMLType instance, but not every time we do it. The same procedure works once, the second time it crashes.

I will try to get some simple scenarios for those issues, as the second problem now is a urgent one for us. If I am successfull with this, I can provide you these scenarios with source.
Posted By: ldsandon Re: TOracleDataset fails on Oracle 10g - 03/30/06 01:28 PM
We had several problems with XMLType columns in 10g R2, we had to step back to 10g R1. Something looks to be changed between those releases, and broke DOA compatibility.
Posted By: noidic Re: TOracleDataset fails on Oracle 10g - 03/30/06 02:03 PM
I can provide some more information regarding the issue:

We use Client 10.1.0.2, Servers 10.1.0.4 and 9.2.0.7

on the 9.2.0.7 server, everything seems to be fine.

The exception occurs every time a select on a xmltype column is executed,
but not the first time it is executed in the actual session. The Problem does not occur,
if the table has more than one xmltype column.
This Problem also occurs, if I execute the select with PL/SQL Developer.

It occurs also when a TXMLType-instance is created after one instance was successfully created.
For this Problem, the amount of xmltype columns in the table does not matter.

If I get more information, I'll post it here.
Posted By: ldsandon Re: TOracleDataset fails on Oracle 10g - 03/30/06 02:17 PM
noidic: see my post of March 13th - there is a bug filed in Metaling regarding these issues, but I got no reply here.
Posted By: noidic Re: TOracleDataset fails on Oracle 10g - 03/30/06 02:32 PM
I know, this issue was reported by us, but it's another issue regarding only R2 of 10g, not R1. The actual issue shows of in R1.
Posted By: Rodrigo_SLZ Re: TOracleDataset fails on Oracle 10g - 05/10/06 06:20 PM
mad
Hi Marco,

We are talking and talking about this issue since January and no solutions were proposed yet...

So, is there any chance to have this patch for this month? This year? Next milenium?

Please, don't abandon us!

Best Regards.
Posted By: Rodrigo_SLZ Re: TOracleDataset fails on Oracle 10g - 06/08/06 07:11 PM
Hi Marco,

We were supposed that our Annual Service Contract should cover this kind of issue.

We are waiting for a patch since January...and our clients cannot spend more time...they are now bringing us into court!

Is there any change to have your professional help to solve this problem?

Thanks a Lot!

Best Regards.
Posted By: Marco Kalter Re: TOracleDataset fails on Oracle 10g - 06/09/06 06:04 PM
You should be contacting Oracle about this. Apparently there was a bug in the Oracle10g R2 when freeing temporary LOB's, which affects XMLTYPE functionality. This will be fixed in Oracle11.

However, Oracle has provided a workaround, and we have successfully tested this last week. If you let me know your Delphi version, I can provide you with a pre-release of this workaround.
Posted By: Rodrigo_SLZ Re: TOracleDataset fails on Oracle 10g - 06/12/06 09:01 PM
Hi Marco,

We are using the following versions:

Borland Delphi Enterprise 7.0 (build 8.1)
DOA 4.0.7.1
Oracle 10.2.0.1.0

If it is compatible, can you send us the pre-release of this workaround that you have tested?

Best Regards.
Posted By: Marco Kalter Re: TOracleDataset fails on Oracle 10g - 06/12/06 10:41 PM
Okay. I will upload it today or tomorrow, and will notify you.
Posted By: AlexA Re: TOracleDataset fails on Oracle 10g - 06/20/06 09:37 PM
Hi Marco,

We have this same issue and it is severely limiting our ability to support our clients. We are using Delphi 7.0 Enterprise build 4.4, DOA 4.0.7.1 and Oracle 10.2.0.2.0. Can we have a pre-release as well?

Regards,
Alex
Posted By: Marco Kalter Re: TOracleDataset fails on Oracle 10g - 06/20/06 09:55 PM
Please send me an e-mail with this request.
Posted By: Rodrigo_SLZ Re: TOracleDataset fails on Oracle 10g - 07/03/06 05:11 PM
Hi Marco,

We have tested the workaround but TOracledataset reported errors still remain.

Is there any chance to focus Allround team effort to solve this issue or provide a new workaround?

Best Regards,
Rodrigo.
Posted By: Marco Kalter Re: TOracleDataset fails on Oracle 10g - 07/06/06 08:53 PM
Sorry, I though this was about the XMLTYPE issue. This thread went off-topic halfway, so it's a bit difficult.

The problem with your issue is that Oracle9 reports the column as optional, whereas Oracle10 reports it as required. The only work-around I could find is to use the rowidtochar function for the rowid column in the view. Now it is reported as optional again, and it should work the same on Oracle9 and Oracle10:

create view ... as
select ..., rowidtochar(ROWID) as RID, ...
© Allround Automations forums