Nested MIDAS updates
#5079 07/07/03 11:18 PM
Olympia, WA USA
S
OP Offline
S
Olympia, WA USA
Hi all -

I am new to DOA and need some advice on posting updates via tdatasetprovider..

I have a nested structure (TDatasetFields) wired up on the server side using a single TDatasetProvider and several M/D TOracleDatasets. Some of the datasets read tables, and some read non-updateable views.

When I post the single structure from the Client, I get a datset not open error when trying to resolve the first child dataset on the server. I am using ResolveToDataset=True.

Question - is this the wrong strategy to be using? Should I turn off ResolveToDataset and process each delta in the TDatasetProvider.BeforeUpdateRecord event?

here is how I was doing this prior to DOA:

procedure TlwdmIVE.dspIVE_HDRBeforeUpdateRecord(Sender: TObject;
SourceDS: TDataSet; DeltaDS: TCustomClientDataSet;
UpdateKind: TUpdateKind; var Applied: Boolean);

if DeltaDS.datasetfield = nil then begin
// process the master dataset
end

else if DeltaDS.datasetfield.fieldname = (ChildDSName here) then begin
// process the named child dataset
end

etc.

I was hoping to allow DOA to process all the tables, then intercept control (via ApplyRecord event) to handle the views, but perhaps this won't work with a nested structure?

thanks for any advice -

david buitenveld

Re: Nested MIDAS updates
#5080 07/08/03 10:12 PM
For nested structures you should set ResolveToDataSet to False. See the 3Tier demo project for an example. I'm not sure how this relates to your BeforeUpdateRecord handler though.

------------------
Marco Kalter
Allround Automations

Marco Kalter
Allround Automations
Re: Nested MIDAS updates
#5081 07/09/03 02:08 AM
Olympia, WA USA
S
OP Offline
S
Olympia, WA USA